Synod Council

Synod Council

Convener:  Rev Jamie Kissack (Moderator)

Secretary:  Mr Tim Crossley  (Synod Clerk)

Synod Treasurer:  Rev Simon Copley

Safeguarding Adviser: Mr Matt Knowles

Dr John Cornell
Rev Ashley Evans
Ms Katherine Buckland

Conveners of:

Ministries Committee – Mrs Kath Lonsdale

Pastoral Committee – Rev Jason McCullagh

Property Committee – Mrs Val Morrison

Safeguarding Committee – Mrs Ailsa Johnson

Children & Young People Committee – Mrs Ruth Roddison

Listed Buildings Advisory Committee – Rev Andrew Lonsdale (interim)

Assembly Executive Reps – Mrs Rosie Buxton / Mr Tim Crossley / Rev Fran Kissack

Training Manager – Dr David Robinson

Rep to the URC Mission Committee – Rev Clare Davison

Aims of Synod Council

  • Acting on behalf of Synod between meetings on matters remitted to it by Synod and also for Synod, when quick decision or actions are required.

Method of Working

  • Through regular meetings, sharing in the visions of the Synod Committees and enabling work to be carried out, holding in tension the priorities identified by national, ecumenical, synod and local church groups.
  • By careful planning of agendas ensuring time for theological reflection and spiritual development related to ideas and actions.
  • Supporting the work of mission locally by having confidence in the work of others, not taking responsibility inappropriately, giving practical support and letting go.
  • Keeping to a minimum the time spent on routine and necessary business.

Next committee meeting…

Synod Council



Children and Youth


Financial Resources

Skip to content